An academic year comprises two semesters of twenty four teaching weeks each. There is normally one midterm examination break in a semester. The last two weeks of a semester is allocated to the end-of-semester examinations. The semester timings are generally as follows:

Fall Semester October to March
Spring Semester April to September

Some departments conducting weekend classes enable the students to continue their studies during the summer vacation.

The University is officially closed on the following occasions:

Eid-ul Fitr Four days beginning with 29th of Ramdan
Eid-ul-Adh-ha Four days beginning with 9th of Dhul Hijja
Eid- Milaad-Un-Nabi One day on 12th Rabi-ul-awal
Aashoura Two days beginning with 9th of Muharram
Pakistan Day March 23
Independence Day August 14
The University observes all other holiday of national and cultural background announced by the Government.